Foundational Phase

Critical thinking, cognitive integration and life-long learning are qualities that are vital to successful medical practice and guided the development of the pre-clinical phase. The Foundational curriculum is divided into six blocks of core content each followed by a two-week study and exam period. The blocks are organized in a logical progression of organ-system based modules that integrate basic science disciplines and doctoring training. Cura personalis refers to and unites courses related to the development of professional skills unique to doctoring that include physical diagnosis, communications and ethics; cura personalis will run throughout all blocks. Intersessions are week long courses emphasizing topics critical to the modern physician in today’s helathcare industry. Medical Student Grand Rounds is a longitudinal course throughout the first three years and will be housed within the Intersession periods. 

Foundational Phase Schematic

Year 1 Modules

  • Scientific Foundations I
  • Scientific Foundations II
  • Cardiovascular
  • Endocrine
  • Foundations of Patient Care
  • Infectious Diseases
  • Renal
  • Gastrointestinal
  • Immunology, Rheumatology, & Dermatology
  • Respiratory 
  • Reproduction

Year 2 Modules

  • Musculoskeletal
  • Central Nervous System
  • Head, Neck & Special Senses

Descriptions of Each Module

Discrete Longitudingal Courses occuring outside of the Modules: Ambulatory Care (Y1), Community-Based Learning (Y1), Medical Student Grand Rounds (Y1, Y2), Ethics (Y1, Y2), Patients, Population & Policy (Y1), Nutrition & Patient Health (Y1), Medical Genetics (Y2), Cura Personalis (Clinical Skills) (Y1, Y2)

Intersessions: Health Disparities & Health Equity, Nutrition & Patient Health, Health Policy & Advocacy, Medical Genetics

Descriptions of Each Intersession